MAKING PLAINTIFFS PAY FOR THEIR FAILURE TO HAVE MANDATORY AUTO LIABILITY INSURANCE

PayPlay_2THE “NO PAY, NO PLAY” STATUTORY LIMITS WERE INCREASED BY THE LOUISIANA LEGISLATURE EFFECTIVE AUGUST 1, 2014

About 1 of 4 drivers in Louisiana is uninsured. To enforce the compulsory auto insurance law, Louisiana has a “no pay, no play” statute that bars the owner or operator of an uninsured motor vehicle from recovering the first $15,000 of bodily injury damage and the first $25,000 of property damage in a tort claim. Defendants facing automobile liability claims in Louisiana should always confirm that an owner-operator plaintiff has valid, minimum statutory liability insurance in effect for the automobile he owned or operated that was involved in an accident. The owner-operator plaintiff without mandatory auto insurance takes nothing until he has incurred $15,000 in bodily injury and $25,000 in property damages losses.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s